TheLeftHandSide

John Pain – Darkness Floats

johnpainJohn Pain has released his debut album, “Darkness Floats” as a limited CD and digital release. Knowing John from his dj mixes under the name DJ Pain, I thought I knew what to expect but it turns out I was wrong…well not completely wrong.
I expected dark, heavy sounds, crunching beats, and an overall brooding atmosphere, which I got, however I did not expect it to be played out on live instruments.
All the tracks are written by Pain himself but he has enlisted John Wagner of The Skyrider Band to play drums and Erik Nava of Egadz and Satellites on the guitar and keys, and I have to say the finished sound is immense.
It’s hip hop, it’s psych, stoner rock, doom rock, experimental, raw beats, the list goes on.
But rather me go on trying to evoke the albums sound in type, just go get yourself a copy and find out for yourself, its well worth it. Do it quick and you can bag yourself the strictly limited CD version with its super tasty artwork. Do it!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

