TheLeftHandSide

Solomon Caine – Podcast & Interview

caineWith his new album out now, Solomon Caine has kindly taken time out to be the guest selector for our latest podcast and answer a few of our questions…read on!

Please introduce yourself and let everyone know who you are and what you do.
My name is Solomon Caine; I am a visual philosopher, sorcerer of sound and surrealist. The name ‘Solomon’ equals wisdom and ‘Caine’ slew ‘Abel’. Together it equates to a balance of light and dark.

When did you start making music?
I studied Fine Art at University and translated the visual art forms into sound in the year 2000. That’s when it all begun.

What were your early influences?
To be honest my early influences is 90s hip hop, the golden era. Which is inspired by soul, rhythm and blues, jazz, funk and reggae. Understanding the principles of music is a journey, a journey which I still travel along to this very day.

Has it always been hip hop, or have you ever made or considered making any other forms of music?
It has always been hip hop, but roots reggae is a music that I would love to make. The knowledge, consciousness and wisdom that I have absorbed from roots reggae is something that I respect greatly.

You have a new album out, “Guerilla Godz…Unmasked The Phantom”, can you describe the album and explain the concept behind the music.
The album is classic 1990s, Wu-Tang inspired, concept based hip hop. The concept of the album is the reverse of evolution. Where science believes we descend from apes, the Guerilla Godz prophecy is that we evolve into apes, with a higher state of consciousness and a god like understanding of the principals of the universe. The MC’s on the album are human beings that are in touch with future Godz. This manifests itself through rhymes and music.

There is a large cinematic influence in your music. Has this had an effected on your music and sound?
Absolutely, movie soundtracks are the foundations of what I do.

On that note, what’s your favourite kung-fu film?
The Shoguns Assassin, everything you need to know about 70’s movies is contained in that film.

What’s your favourite Sci-fi film?
My favourite has to be The Omega Man, it’s a post-apocalyptic masterpiece.

For you, what makes a truly great track or record?
A song that is timeless.

Do you have plans to work with any MC’s in the future?
Yeah, I see and hear new things everyday, the way I see things is the possibilities are endless.

Is it hard finding the right MC’s to fit your sound?
Yeah it is, because I like to work with MC’s that are intelligent and articulate, with an open mind and a voice that tonally compliments what I do. In return I want to compliment what they bring, it’s a two-way thing. It’s like ingredient’s in a kitchen, use the right ingredients and you can create a tasty dish.

You are signed to Canadian label Make Believe Records, how did that come about?
I remixed a couple of joints for a group that are on the label, called Dragon Fli Empire. They approached me about joining the label and I thought it would be a great idea. They said I’m allowed full artistic freedom with whatever I do.

Do you try to make music that fits into the modern vision of hip hop, or are you happy just doing your thing and not caring about the rest of the world?
I’ve never felt the need to fit in to anything that is going on, because all the music I truly respect was innovative in the time of which it was produced. My philosophy is why try to be someone else when you can be yourself.

(I asked this to the last person I interviewed, but I like the question so) Which cartoon , old or new, would you like to provide the soundtrack for?
That’s a phat question, Afro Samurai.

What’s next for Solomon Caine? What can we expect to hear in the future?
I’m going to make a series of short films, an instrumental album and a lot more collaborations with talented artist.

Finally, any shout out or final thoughts?
Can I give a shout out to anyone who is doing their own thing for the right reasons. My final thought is to follow your dreams, if you believe enough they will become a reality.

“Guerilla Godz…Unmask The Phantom” is out now for name your price release on bandcamp, and listen to the excellent podcast mix here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

